top of page

Creativity in Strange Times

The past few weeks have been among the strangest I have ever experienced. I went from the high of seeing my first play, Skin and Bone, being performed in the Mac ScratchWorks showcase, to having my workshops cancelled amid the Corona Virus pandemic. I have two novels, that my agent Lina Langlee was presenting to London Book Fair, only to see the event also fall to the necessity of cancellation. Strange times to be living through.

Thank God for books and boxsets and music. Self isolation is the new hygge. Stay safe and calm folks. This is going to be a longterm problem. For my Scribes at QUB and Cancer Focus I will be providing online Story Craft prompts and posts. So keep a look out.

Seón Simpson, Sharon Dempsey and Aimee McGoldrick

 

Skin and Bone

This is a one-woman piece, allowing the audience to engage in Nancy’s experience of feeling at odds with the world. At home she is witness to her mother’s demise – cancer rendering her to skin and bone, while outside of the home she flirts with danger, knowing that caravan park dweller, Alan, isn’t to be messed with.

Speaking about her inspiration for writing Skin and Bone, Sharon said, “Nancy’s voice came clear to me and I could see her as a force to be reckoned with yet, so vulnerable. I wanted to explore the idea of Nancy feeling like she has this untapped power within her. At home she’s losing a sense of who she is as a daughter and struggling to find her place in the world.”

Aimee McGoldrick played Nancy and Seon Simpson directed the piece. We hoped to stage the full play at Belfast Book Festival on 14th of June at the Crescent Arts Centre. Watch this space for a new date.





Finally, meet our new addition, Miss Daisy. She will keep us entertained during the coming weeks.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page